About the Baltic Sea AC

The Baltic Sea Advisory Council (BSAC) was set up in March 2006 after a decision by the EU to create so-called Regional Advisory Councils in the fisheries sector (Council Decision 2004/585/EC). (This Decision was later repealed by the new Basic Regulation see below.)

Setting up the Regional Advisory Councils (RACs) was one of the pillars of the reform of the Common Fisheries Policy, carried out in 2002. There had been calls from stakeholders in the fisheries sector who wanted to be more involved in the way fisheries is managed in the EU.

A new reform of the Common Fisheries Policy was finalised in December 2013. A new regulation has been adopted in which the role and function of the Advisory Councils has been included. This is the so-called Basic Regulation.  Link

A Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2015/242 came into force on 9th October 2014 and lays down detailed rules on the functioning of the Advisory Council under the CFP. Link  Some parts of that Regulation were amended by a Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2017/1575 of 23rd June 2017 Link  Some more amendments were made with Delegated Regulation 2022/24 of 8th December 2021 Link    

The main aim of the BSAC is to prepare and provide advice on the management of Baltic Sea fisheries in order to achieve a successful running of the EU’s Common Fisheries Policy.

The BSAC consists of organisations representing the fisheries and other interest groups affected by the CFP (eg. environmental, organisations, and sports and recreational fisheries organisations). The Commission has produced a Delegated Regulation laying down detailed rules on the functioning of the Advisory Councils. Link 

Ingemar Berglund is Honorary Chair of the BSAC General Assembly (elected 22nd September 2021), Jaroslaw (Jarek) Zieliński, from the Fish Producers' Organisation Baltyk is Chair of the Executive Committee (elected 11th May 2022), and Glenn Douglas from the European Anglers Alliance is Vice Chair of the Executive Committee (elected 11th May 2022).  Teija Aho, of the Swedish Fishermen PO, is Chairs of the Demersal WG (elected 21st September 2021). Lise Laustsen, of the Danish Pelagic Producers Organisation, is Chair of the Pelagic WG  (elected 30th June 2022). Nils Höglund of Coalition Clean Baltic is Chair of the Working Group on Ecosystem Based Management (elected 22nd September 2021).

The BSAC is funded by the European Union, the Member States around the Baltic Sea, and its members.

If you want to find out more about the Advisory Councils, please go to the European Commission’s website at: